APHA Names Top Paint Barrel Racing Incentive Program Participants of 2015

The top Paint barrel racers turned and burned their way into the Paint Barrel Racing Incentive Program (PBRIP) 2015 year-end standings. Throughout the year, competitors accumulated points at PBRIP-approved barrel races across the country in the hopes of taking home one of four prize saddles and a cash bonus.

Karen Orman of Des Moines, Iowa, and Dalts Superman Design earned the High-Point PBRIP title, in addition to topping the PBRIP 2D and 3D standings. Karen and “Doodle” earned 77 points to clinch the titles—including 34 points in the 2D and 36 points in 3D events; for their efforts, they take home two Elite saddles, a trophy breast collar, Gist championship buckle and APHA year-end money.

Doodle is a 2008 sorrel tobiano stallion by Designer Red (QH) and out of Ima Bit Easy; he was bred by the Ormans and trained by Karen’s son, Marc.

Based on the 4D system, the winner in each division will take home an Elite Custom Saddle from APHA’s new official performance saddle partner. First and second place in each “D” also earned their share of $2,500 year-end money provided by APHA.

PBRIP is designed to provide barrel racers with a way to be part of APHA regardless of where they compete by adding money to special sidepots just for Paints enrolled in the program. PBRIP events can also be used to qualify for the APHA World Championship Show, where the best of the best battle it out for more than $10,000 in prize money in addition to exciting prizes and world championship titles.

Congratulations to the following top-placing PBRIP Paints and their riders for 2015:

1. Shez One Slick Angel, owned and ridden by Melinda Houttuin
2. Magnolia Kit Kat, ridden by Jennifer Bruno, owned by Jennifer Bruno and Brock Merriman
3. Winter Apache, owned and ridden by Robin Randle
4. EZ Jet Express, owned and ridden by Montie Ledford
5. First Fire Frost, ridden by Kylee Scribner, owned by Kristy Scribner

1. Dalts Superman Design, ridden by Karen Orman, owned by Marc Orman
2. Hez Aces Maverick, owned and ridden by Abigail DePriest
3. Hit The Fast Fanny, owned and ridden by Crystal Bailey
4. Colonel Tatoos Socks, owned and ridden by Rejane Blackwell
5. Primetime Lexus, owned and ridden by Jean Hovan

1. Dalts Superman Design, ridden by Karen Orman, owned by Marc Orman
2. LLP Susies Witch, owned and ridden by Belinda Wheeler
3. Hesararetreasure, owned and ridden by Eileen Wall
4. Alone N Dirty, owned and ridden by Kate Howland
5. Melodys Coco Rose, owned and ridden by Maty Bagley

1. Bo Ringo, owned and ridden by Lisa Mullinax
2. Smokin Guns N Roses, ridden by Lori Buschbacher, owned by Justin and Lori Buschbacher
3. TJS Flashy Spot, owned and ridden by Jeanette Meissinger
4. Timeto Go Twist, owned and ridden by Jessica Reynolds
5. Rockbottomrudeboy, owned and ridden by Billie Ruth Hankins

These outstanding competitors will be honored at an awards ceremony at 1:00 p.m. on March 26 during the PBRIP All-Breed Invitational Barrel Race where APHA will offer a $2,500 added PBRIP 5D sidepot. The full event runs March 25-26 at Twin Lakes Covered Arena in Fairfield, Texas.

To learn more about PBRIP and to get involved, visit or contact program director Karen Utecht at 817-222-6444.

The American Paint Horse Association is the world’s second-largest international equine breed association, registering more than a million horses in 59 nations and territories since it was founded. APHA creates and maintains programs that increase the value of American Paint Horses and enriches members’ experiences with their horses.






"*" indicates required fields

The latest from Stable Management, the #1 resource for horse farm and stable owners, managers and riding instructors, delivered straight to your inbox.

Additional Offers

Additional Offers
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.