Four Finalists Selected for 2016 Equine Industry Vision Award

Zoetis and American Horse Publications (AHP) are proud to announce four finalists have been selected for the 2016 Equine Industry Vision Award. Sponsored by Zoetis, the Equine Industry Vision Award is intended to recognize ingenuity and service as well as benefit the equine industry by inspiring these qualities in others.

“Every year since 2002, the horse community has brought attention to the visionaries in the horse industry,” said Christine W. Brune, AHP executive director. “In recognizing these nominees, we learn of those whose dedication and service have impacted our industry and our horses in a positive way.”

The six members of the Equine Industry Vision Award Committee reviewed the nominations and narrowed the list of 16 nominees to four candidates. The committee selected the following finalists:

Tootie Bland, creator, owner, and producer of Road to the Horse, the original colt-starting competition;

Gary Carpenter, NRHA Commissioner, whose lifelong career impacts nearly every facet of the horse industry including AQHA, AAEP, The Jockey Club, Arabian Horse Trust, and Colorado State University’s equine programs;

EQUUS Foundation, a foundation dedicated to improving the quality of life of horses, promoting the use of horses to enrich the lives of those in need, and educating the public about the horse’s unique ability to empower, teach and heal; and

Retired Racehorse Project, a charitable organization that facilitates placing ex-racehorses in second careers by increasing demand for them in the riding markets and serving the farms, organizations and trainers that prepare them for second careers.

“A nomination for the Equine Industry Vision Award is an honor in itself,” says Brune. “It recognizes these individuals and organizations for making a significant difference in the horse world.”

The Finalists will be judged on their performance in relation to the achievement(s) cited and their demonstration of the following attributes and abilities: 1) The vision and innovation of a true pioneer; 2) Leadership, commitment, dedication and willingness to serve; 3) Original and effective ideas and/or products, services, programs; 4) High moral, ethical and professional standards. The AHP Board of Directors and a representative from Zoetis will vote to select the winner.

The official announcement of the winner and presentation of the award will be made at the Equine Industry Vision Award Breakfast on Friday, June 17, 2016, during the AHP May the Horse Be with You Seminar in Orlando, Florida. The recipient will be presented with the Equine Industry Vision Award Trophy created by master artisan Peter Wayne Yenawine.

Previous recipients of the Equine Industry Vision Award are Alexander Mackay-Smith in 2002, Don Burt in 2003, the American Quarter Horse Association in 2004, John Ryan Gaines in 2005, Stanley Bergstein in 2006, David O’Connor in 2007, Sally Swift in 2008, Charlotte Brailey Kneeland in 2009, John Nicholson in 2010, Robert E. Cacchione in 2011, Equine Land Conservation Resource in 2012, Professional Association of Therapeutic Horsemanship (PATH) in 2013, Patti Colbert in 2014, and Gayle Ecker in 2015.






"*" indicates required fields

The latest from Stable Management, the #1 resource for horse farm and stable owners, managers and riding instructors, delivered straight to your inbox.

Additional Offers

Additional Offers
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.