Nominations Open for the 2017 Equine Industry Vision Award

Nominations are now open for the 16th annual Equine Industry Vision Award. Sponsored by Zoetis since its inception, the prestigious award is the first of its kind to showcase innovation across the entire equine market, as well as ingenuity and service. 

Award nominees may include individuals and/or organizations. Candidates may be considered for a single outstanding visionary achievement or for sustained outstanding contributions that have made a profound impact on the equine industry. Anyone is eligible to be nominated, re-nominated or to nominate a candidate for the award. Nominations are due Feb. 6, 2017.

The 2017 Equine Industry Vision Award recipient will be announced during a breakfast ceremony sponsored by Zoetis on June 16, 2017, at the AHP Annual Seminar in Scottsdale, Arizona. The winner receives a lead crystal trophy created by master artisan Peter Wayne Yenawine and commissioned by Zoetis. Additionally, the name of the award recipient is engraved on the Equine Industry Vision Award Perpetual Trophy on display at Zoetis headquarters in Parsippany, NJ.

“Zoetis is honored to recognize those who are committed to advancing the equine industry with this prestigious award,” said Sally Amtmann, senior equine marketing manager, Zoetis. “We are proud to carry on the tradition of the Equine Industry Vision Award for the 16th consecutive year.”

To request a nomination ballot for the 2017 Equine Industry Vision Award, contact Judy Lincoln, EIVA coordinator, American Horse Publications, at 386-760-7743 or email Nomination information is also available online at All entry materials are due on or before Feb. 6, 2017.

Past recipients of the Equine Industry Vision Award are true visionaries who have contributed to the growth and preservation of the equine industry, and include: 

  • 2016 Gary L. Carpenter, commissioner and CEO of the National Reining Horse Association (NRHA), for his passion for increasing involvement with horses and working across disciplines in the equine industry.
  • 2015 Gayle Ecker, director of Equine Guelph, for her heartfelt work in connecting people, especially youth, with horses.
  • 2014 Patti Colbert for her numerous contributions to the equine industry including marketing Time to Ride, an initiative of the American Horse Council?s marketing alliance formed to connect people with horses and designed to encourage horse-interested consumers to enjoy the benefits of horse activities.
  • 2013 Professional Association of Therapeutic Horsemanship (PATH Int?l) for their work in promoting safe and effective therapeutic horseback riding for individuals with special needs throughout the world.
  • 2012 Equine Land Conservation Resource (ELCR) for the organization?s dedication to help preserve land for the future of equestrian sports, recreation and industry.
  • 2011 Robert Cacchione, executive director and co-founder of the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA), for his exemplary vision to start an organization that would allow any college student to participate in horse shows, regardless of financial status or riding level. 
  • 2010 John Nicholson for his work as the executive director of the Kentucky Horse Park and as president of the World Equestrian Games 2010 Foundation including his leadership in bringing the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games to the United States.
  • 2009 Charlotte Brailey Kneeland, the founder and director of the American Riding Instructors Association, for her vision to promote and certify riding instructors across the United States.
  • 2008 Sally Swift (1913-2009), the founder of the Centered Riding?, for having a revolutionary impact on horseback riding worldwide in the 20th century.
  • 2007 David O’Connor, best known for his Olympic accomplishments and his work as president of the United States Equestrian Federation (USEF).
  • 2006 Stanley F. Bergstein (1924-2011), executive vice president of Harness Tracks of America (HTA), for his positive contributions to the Standardbred racing industry and lifetime of accomplishments. 
  • 2005 John Ryan Gaines (1928-2005) for his countless contributions to the horse world that continue to reach across disciplines.? 
  • 2004 American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) for the organization’s vast, positive impact on the equine experience worldwide. 
  • 2003 Don Burt (1930-2012) for more than 50 years of living and working as a member of the horse industry and his efforts across disciplines. 
  • 2002 Alexander Mackay-Smith (1903-1998) for his broad contributions to the whole of the equine industry.

American Horse Publications is dedicated to excellence in equine media through education and communication. AHP strives to be the primary source of education, resources and networking for the equine media community. We believe a proactive approach in an ever-evolving communications-driven world allows us the flexibility and opportunity to promote, support and reward excellence in equine media. For more information, please contact Chris Brune, American Horse Publications at or 386-760-7743 or visit the AHP website at

Zoetis(z?-EH-tis) is the leading animal health company, dedicated to supporting its customers and their businesses. Building on more than 60 years of experience in animal health, Zoetis discovers, develops, manufactures and markets veterinary vaccines and medicines, complemented by diagnostic products and genetic tests and supported by a range of services. Zoetis serves veterinarians, livestock producers and people who raise and care for farm and companion animals with sales of its products in more than 100 countries. In 2015, the company generated annual revenue of $4.8 billion with approximately 9,000 employees. For more information,






"*" indicates required fields

The latest from Stable Management, the #1 resource for horse farm and stable owners, managers and riding instructors, delivered straight to your inbox.

Additional Offers

Additional Offers
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.