Nominations Open for Canada’s Best Equestrian

HORSETALK.CO.NZ — NOV. 18, 2012 — Equine Canada is calling for nominations for its end-of-season national awards, in eight categories.

HORSETALK.CO.NZ — NOV. 18, 2012 — Equine Canada is calling for nominations for its end-of-season national awards, in eight categories.

The awards recognize individuals who have made a significant impact in the Canadian equestrian community.

The winners will be honoured at the Equine Canada Annual Awards Gala which will be held at the Delta Ottawa City Centre on Friday, February 8, 2013 as part of the Equine Canada Annual Convention.

The awards are:

The Equestrian of the Year Award– The Doctor George Jacobsen Trophy – is given annually to the equestrian who has demonstrated superior sportsmanship, dedication and the pursuit of excellence in equestrian competition for the current year.

The Junior Equestrian of the Year Award – The Gillian Wilson Trophy – is presented annually to the junior competitor who has made outstanding contributions to equestrian competition and who has exemplified exceptional talent, sportsmanship and dedication to the sport.

Equine Canada will present the Susan Jane Anstey Trophy to an exceptional individual who has delivered outstanding media coverage that served to enhance the image of Canadian equine interests to the Canadian public.

The Volunteer of the Year Award is presented to an individual who has dedicated themselves to the ideals of EC, who has worked tirelessly for the improvement of the organization, and who has had a notable impact on the sport.

Environmental issues, as well as horse, rider and staff health, are subjects close to our hearts in the equine industry. Equine Canada, along with Just Add Horses, has created the Just Add Horses Environmental Award to recognize individuals, groups or farms who are helping to raise environmental awareness.

The Canadian Bred Horse of the Year Award will be presented to the breeder or owner of a horse who has raised the profile of Canadian-bred horses with exceptional competition results. To be eligible, the horse must be foaled in Canada and registered with any of Equine Canada’s member breed associations. The award is also eligible to an outstanding sire whose offspring have accumulated national and international victories.

The Canadian Breeder of the Year Award will recognize a Canadian breeder for their contribution the quality of Canadian bred horses. Nominees must be members of an Equine Canada breed association.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to an individual whose contributions to the Canadian equestrian community are considered exceptional by their peers and whose long-term service and dedication have contributed directly to the ongoing growth and development of Canadian equine sport and industry.

Nominations close on November 23, and

Equine Canada would like to remind everyone that the nomination deadline for the Equine Canada National Awards is November 23, 2012 at 4:00 p.m. EST. It is important to nominate those that are deserving of national recognition for their equestrian pursuits.






"*" indicates required fields

The latest from Stable Management, the #1 resource for horse farm and stable owners, managers and riding instructors, delivered straight to your inbox.

Additional Offers

Additional Offers
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.