Nominations Sought for the 12th Annual Equine Industry Vision Award

SOUTH DAYTONA, FLA. — DEC. 12, 2012 — Nominations are now open for the AHP's Equine Industry Vision Award, sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health.

SOUTH DAYTONA, FLA. — DEC. 12, 2012 — Pfizer Animal Health enters its 12th year as sponsor of the prestigious Equine Industry Vision Award in partnership with American Horse Publications (AHP). Nominations are now open for the award, the first of its kind to showcase innovation across the entire equine market, as well as ingenuity and service.

Since its inception in 2002, there have been many worthy nominees for the Equine Industry Vision Award. Anyone is eligible to be nominated, re-nominated, or to nominate a candidate for the award. Nominees may include individuals and/or organizations. Candidates may be considered for a single outstanding visionary achievement or for sustained outstanding contributions that have made a profound impact on the equine industry.

The 2013 Equine Industry Vision Award will be announced during a breakfast ceremony sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health on June 21, 2013, during the AHP Meet at the Peak Seminar in Colorado Springs, Colo. The names of award recipients are engraved on the Equine Industry Vision Award Perpetual Trophy, created in the finest full lead crystal by master artisan Peter Wayne Yenawine and commissioned by Pfizer Animal Health. The winners receive a smaller version of the award as a memento of this unique recognition.

“Pfizer Animal Health is proud to carry on this tradition for the 12th consecutive year. We are honored to recognize the new and past winners who positively impact the equine industry,” said Kate Russo, marketing manager of Cattle and Equine Parasiticides, Pfizer Animal Health.

Past award winners are truly visionaries who have contributed to the growth and preservation of the equine industry. If you know an individual or organization that deserves to be recognized for vision and contribution for the 2013 award, nominations are due on or before Feb. 6, 2013.

Past recipients of the Equine Industry Vision Award are:

2012 — Equine Land Conservation Resource (ELCR) for the organization’s dedication to help preserve land for the future of equestrian sports, recreation and industry.

2011 — Robert Cacchione, executive director and co-founder of the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA), for his exemplary vision to start an organization that would allow any college student to participate in horse shows, regardless of financial status or riding level.

2010 — John Nicholson for his work as the executive director of the Kentucky Horse Park and as president of the World Equestrian Games 2010 Foundation. Nicholson’s leadership was pivotal in bringing the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games to the United States.

2009 — Charlotte Brailey Kneeland, the founder and director of the American Riding Instructors Association, for her vision to promote and certify riding instructors across the United States.

2008 — Sally Swift (1913-2009), the founder of the Centered Riding®, for having a revolutionary impact on horseback riding worldwide in the 20th century.

2007 — David O’Connor, best known for his Olympic accomplishments and his work as president of the United States Equestrian Federation (USEF).

2006 — Stanley F. Bergstein (1924-2011), executive vice president of Harness Tracks of America (HTA), for his positive contributions to the Standardbred racing industry and lifetime of accomplishments.

2005 — John Ryan Gaines for his countless contributions to the horse world that continue to reach across disciplines.

2004 — American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) for the organization’s vast, positive impact on the equine experience worldwide.

2003 — Don Burt (1930-2012) for more than 50 years of living and working as a member of the horse industry and his efforts across disciplines.

2002 — Alexander Mackay-Smith (1903-1998) for his broad contributions to the whole of the equine industry.

To request a nomination ballot for the 2013 Equine Industry Vision Award, contact Judy Lincoln, EIVA Coordinator, American Horse Publications, at (386) 760-7743 or email

Nomination information is also available at the AHP website at

All materials will be due on or before Feb. 6, 2013.

About Pfizer Animal Health

Pfizer Animal Health, a business unit of Pfizer Inc., is a global leader in the discovery, development, manufacture and commercialization of animal health medicines, diagnostics, genetic tests and vaccines, with a focus on both livestock and companion animals. For more than 60 years, we have been committed to enhancing the health of animals and bringing solutions to our customers who raise and care for them. To learn more, visit

About American Horse Publications

American Horse Publications is a non-profit association of over 500 equine-related publications, digital media, professionals, associations, and businesses which share an interest in equine publishing. Established in 1970, AHP has continued to promote excellence in equine media as well as a better understanding and communication within the equine publishing industry. To learn more, visit






"*" indicates required fields

The latest from Stable Management, the #1 resource for horse farm and stable owners, managers and riding instructors, delivered straight to your inbox.

Additional Offers

Additional Offers
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.